Faculty

The Materials Science and Engineering faculty all have Doctorate degrees in related fields and a significant fraction of their research is in the materials sciences.

The faculty reside in nine departments across the CU Boulder campus.

Kristi Anseth

Distinguished Professor and HHMI Investigator

Chemical and Biological Engineering / Biofrontiers Institute

MSE Areas: Polymers, hydrogels, biomaterials, synthetic extracellular matrices, photopolymers, networks

kristi.anseth@colorado.edu

Meredith Betterton

Associate Professor

Dept of Physics and Biofrontiers Institute

MSE Areas: Biophysics, biomaterials, soft matter physics, liquid crystals, active matter, active liquid-crystalline materials

meredith.betterton@colorado.edu

Mark Borden

Associate Professor

Mechanical Engineering

MSE Areas: Biomaterials, biomembranes, emulsions, bubbles, foams, colloids, lipid monolayers, lipid vesicles, polymer vesicles, microbubbles, microparticles, micelles, polymer brushes

mark.borden@colorado.edu

Christopher Bowman

Patten Professor

Chemical and Biological Engineering

MSE Areas: Polymer chemistry, polymer networks, biomaterials, smart/responsive materials, photopolymerizations, optical materials, photolithography

christopher.bowman@colorado.edu

Stephanie Bryant

Associate Professor

Chemical and Biological Engineering

MSE Areas: Biomaterials, tissue engineering, polymer chemistry, photopolymerization, hydrogels

sbryant@colorado.edu

J. Scott Bunch

Assistant Professor

Mechanical Engineering

MSE Areas: Graphene, thin Films, nanomaterials, nanomechanics

jbunch@colorado.edu

Jennifer Cha

Norviel Associate Professor

Chemical and Biological Engineering

MSE Areas: Nanoscience, biomolecular materials, photovoltaic materials, nanoparticle thin films, catalysis, surface science, colloids, polymers and polypeptides, biosensors

jennifer.cha@colorado.edu

Noel Clark

Professor

Physics

MSE Areas: liquid crystals, colloidal particles, self-assembly of DNA

noel.clark@colorado.edu

Nikolaus Correll

Assistant Professor

Computer Science, "swarm"

MSE Areas: Self-organization, swam intelligence

nikolaus.correll@colorado.edu

Daniel Dessau

Professor

Physics

MSE Areas: Electronic materials, superconductors,magnetic materials, topological insulators, spintronics, organic photovoltaics, electron spectroscopy, thin films

dan.dessau@colorado.edu

Yifu Ding

Assistant Professor

Mechanical Engineering

MSE Areas: Polymer physics, nanofabrication, thin films, nanocomposites, polymer-based membranes, smart materials

yifu.ding@colorado.edu

Gordana Dukovic

Assistant Professor

MSE Areas: Nanocrystal synthesis and spectroscopy, photochemistry, solar fuels, catalysis, solar energy conversion, inorganic nanomaterials

gordana.dukovic@colorado.edu

Martin Dunn

Professor

Mechanical Engineering

MSE Areas: Active materials, thin films, mechanics, composites, materials design, adhesion, fracture, piezoelectric materials

martin.dunn@colorado.edu

Virginia Ferguson

Assistant Professor

Mechanical Engineering

MSE Areas: Materials characterization, nanomechanics, nanoindentation, scanning electron microscopy, standardization of materials measurements, structure-function relationships, tissue mechanics, biological tissue chemistry, bone, cartilage, materials for tissue engineering, properties of tissues in pregnancy.

mailto:virginia.ferguson@colorado.edu

Steven George

Professor

Chemical and Biological Engineering & Chemistry and Biochemistry

MSE Areas: Thin films, surface chemistry, nanoscale engineering, atomic layer deposition, molecular layer deposition, hybrid organic-inorganic materials, Li ion batteries, supercapacitors, fuel cells, protective coatings and barriers, transparent conducting films

steven.george@colorado.edu

Andrew Goodwin

Assistant Professor

Chemical and Biological Engineering

MSE Areas: Polymer chemistry, soft materials, self‐assembly, nanostructures, biomedical engineering

andrew.goodwin@colorado.edu

Juliet Gopinath

Assistant Professor

Electrical, Computer, & Energy Engineering

MSE Areas: Semiconductors, Chalcogenides, Nonlinear optical material properties, Lasers, Optofluidics, Electrowetting

juliet.gopinath@colorado.edu

Mahmoud I. Hussein

Associate Professor

Aerospace Engineering Sciences

MSE Areas: Phononics, phononic crystals, acoustic/elastic metamaterials, thermoelectic materials, silicon thin films, structural materials, wave propagation in periodic media, dispersive/dissipative/nonlinear dynamics of materials, band structure calculations, multiscale material modeling

mih@colorado.edu

Arthi Jayaraman

Patten Assistant Professor

Chemical and Biological Engineering

MSE Areas: Molecular simulations, polymers, macromolecular materials, nanocomposites, biomaterials

arthi.jayaraman@colorado.edu

Henry Kapteyn

Professor

JILA & Physics

MSE Areas: Nanoscale thermal transport, nanoscale acoustic metrology, ultrafast spin dynamics, ultrafast x-ray photoemission of surfaces and phase change materials

henry.kapteyn@colorado.edu

Minhyea Lee

Assistant Professor

Physics

MSE Areas: Strongly-correlated electron systems

minhyea.lee@colorado.edu

Sehee Lee

Associate Professor

Mechanical Engineering

MSE Areas: Nanostructured materials for batteries, electrochromic devices, electrochemical supercapacitors, opto-electronic and sensor
applications, thin film rechargeable lithium batteries, intercalation materials

sehee.lee@colorado.edu

Joseph Maclennan

Professor Attendant Rank

Physics

MSE Areas: Liquid crystals, electrooptics, thin films

jem@colorado.edu

Kurt Maute

Professor

Aerospace Engineering Sciences

MSE Areas: Modeling, numerical analysis, computational design of active polymers, Li-ion battery electrodes, structural and functional composites

kurt.maute@colorado.edu

John McCartney

Assistant Professor

Civil, Environmental and Architectural Engineering

MSE Areas: Unsaturated soil mechanics, thermo-hydro-mechanical behavior of saturated and unsaturated soils, hydraulic and mechanical interaction between unsaturated soils and geosynthetics

john.mccartney@colorado.edu

Kyle McElroy

Assistant Professor

Physics

MSE Areas: Condensed matter physics, Surface Science, atomic-scale electronic structure, thin films, correlated electrons

kyle.mcelroy@colorado.edu

Robert McLeod

Associate Professor

Electrical, Computer and Energy Engineering

MSE Areas: Photopolymers, optical materials, optical characterization, organic electronics, photolithography, 3D structuring, biomaterials

robert.mcleod@colorado.edu

J. Will Medlin

Assistant Professor and ConocoPhillips Faculty Fellow

Chemical and Biological Engineering

MSE Areas: Catalysts, photocatalysts, surface modification, surface spectroscopy, sensors

will.medlin@colorado.edu

Alan Mickelson

Associate Professor

Electrical, Computer and Energy Engineering

MSE Areas: Thin films, polymer processing/device fabrication, nanotechnology for optics/elecgronics, plasmonics

alan.mickelson@colorado.edu

Garret Moddel

Professor

Electrical, Computer and Energy Engineering

MSE Areas: Metal/insulator thin film diodes, photovoltaic devices, graphene, low-energy nuclear reaction materials, thin-film deposition, metal/insulator barrier heights, quantum rectification, rectenna solar cells, liquid crystals, amorphous silicon

moddel@colorado.edu

Margaret Murnane

Professor

JILA & Physics

MSE Areas: Nanoscale thermal transport, nanoscale acoustic metrology, ultrafast spin dynamics, ultrafast x-ray photoemission of surfaces and phase change materials

margaret.murnane@colorado.edu

Todd Murray

Associate Professor

Mechanical Engineering

MSE Areas: Acoustic wave propagation, ultrasonic imaging, materials process monitoring and control, biomedical optics, optical sensors, nanoscale materials characterization, optical techniques for nondestructive evaluation, nanoelectromechanical systems, laser ultrasonics, photorefractive materials and devices

todd.murray@colorado.edu

Charles Musgrave

Professor

Chemical and Biological Engineering

MSE Areas: Computational materials science, quantum simulations, photovoltaics, photopolymerization, thin films, catalysis, energy storage materials, pseudocapacitor materials

charles.musgrave@colorado.edu

Prashant Nagpal

Assistant Professor

Chemical and Biological Engineering

MSE Areas: Photovoltaic materials, plasmonics and metamaterials, nanophotonics, optical physics, semiconductor nanocrystals, infrared photonics, thermal plasmonics, biological sensing, optical sensors

prashant.nagpal@colorado.edu

Kimberly Newman

Assistant Professor

Electrical, Computer and Architectural Engineering

MSE Areas: Bioinstrumentation, smart phones, FPGA, renewable energy, chronic illness, rehabilitation

kimberly.newman@colorado.edu

Richard Noble

Alfred T. and Betty E. Look Professor

Chemical and Biological Engineering

MSE Areas: Thin films, membranes, ionic liquids, liquid crystals, zeolites, composites

nobler@colorado.edu

Wounjhang Park

Associate Professor

Electrical, Computer and Energy Engineering

MSE Areas: Luminescent materials, metamaterials, nanostructures, surface plasmons, biophotonic materials, nonlinear optical materials and devices, materials for lighting and photovoltaic devices

wounjhang.park@colorado.edu

John Pellegrino

Professor Research

Mechanical Engineering

MSE Areas: Membrane science, polymer materials, characterization

john.pellegrino@colorado.edu

Thomas Perkins

Fellow, JILA
Associate Professor

JILA and MCDB

MSE Areas: Single molecule, AFM, polymer physics, bio-material, protein folding, optical traps, biophysics

tperkins@jila.colorado.edu

H. Jerry Qi

Associate Professor

Mechanical Engineering

MSE Areas: Material physics, mechanics of materials, polymer mechanics, polymer physics, computational mechanics

qih@colorado.edu

Richard Regueiro

Associate Professor

RASEI & Civil, Environmental and Architectural Engineering

MSE Areas: Geomaterials, soft biological tissues, multiscale multiphysics computational mechanics, thin deformable porous materials, particulate materials

qih@colorado.edu

Dmitry Reznik

Associate Professor

Physics

MSE Areas: Superconductors, magnetic materials, neutron scattering, lattice dynamics, Raman spectroscopy

dmitry.reznik@colorado.edu

Charles Rogers

Professor

Physics

MSE Areas: Thin film materials, reduced dimensional and very small systems, fluctuations, and nano-scale device physics

charles.rogers@colorado.edu

Garry Rumbles

Adjoint Professor

Chemistry

MSE Areas: Organic photovoltaics, conjugated polymers, photoinduced electron transfer, transient microwave conductivity

Garry.Rumbles@nrel.gov

Daniel Schwartz

Professor

Chemical and Biological Engineering

MSE Areas: Interfaces, thin films, molecular self-assembly, biomaterials, liquid crystals, surfactants

daniel.schwartz@colorado.edu

Ivan Smalyukh

Associate Professor

Physics

MSE Areas: Liquid crystals, organic photovoltaics, nanostructured materilas, soft materials, colloids, polymers, grapheme, biomolecular materials, bacterial biofilms, plasmonic nanoparticles, self-assembly, electro-optic materials, nanophotonics

ivan.smalyukh@colorado.edu

Wil V. Srubar

Assistant Professor

Civil, Environmental, & Architectural Engineering

MSE Areas: biomaterials, fiber-reinforced polymers, cementitious materials, mechanics, transport phenomena, environmental durability, life cycle assessment, service-life prediction

wsrubar@colorado.edu

Jeffrey Stansbury

Associate Dean for Research

School of Dental Medicine

MSE Areas: Polymer chemistry, biomaterials

jeffrey.stansbury@ucdenver.edu

Conrad Stoldt

Assistant Professor

Mechanical Engineering

MSE Areas: Energy storage materials, photovoltaic materials, corrosion, semiconductor materials, nanocrystal synthesis, surface chemistry, chalcogenide materials, finite element modeling, Raman spectroscopy

conrad.stoldt@colorado.edu

Mark Stoykovich

Assistant Professor

Chemical and Biological Engineering

MSE Areas: Polymer thin films, self-assembly, lithography and nanofabrication, nanoparticle synthesis and characterization, metal oxidation

mark.stoykovich@colorado.edu

Wei Tan

Assistant Professor

Mechanical Engineering

MSE Areas: Vascular biomaterials, nanomaterials, biological materials, hierarchical structure, controlled biomolecule release

w.tan@colorado.edu

Jao van de Lagemaat

Assistant Professor

NREL & Department of Physics

MSE Areas: Plasmonics, photonic materials, nanomaterials, photovoltaic materials, excitonic solar cells, nanoscale imaging, third-generation photoconversion, polymer physics, carrier transport in disordered materials, quantum-confined semiconductors, solar photochemistry, solar fuels, catalysis

jao.vandelagemaat@nrel.gov

Franck Vernerey

Assistant Professor

Civil, Environmental and Architectural Engineering

MSE Areas: Biological materials, soft tissue, mechanical behavior, plasticity, damage, fracture, hydrogels, soft matter, multiscale methods in materials science, fibrous materials. Numerical methods

franck.vernerey@nrel.gov

David Walba

Professor

Chemistry and Biochemistry

MSE Areas: Liquid crystals

walba@colorado.edu

Alan Weimer

H.T. Sears Memorial Professor

Chemical and Biological Engineering

MSE Areas: Atomic layer deposition, molecular layer deposition, particle ALD, particle MLD, non-oxide ceramics, thin films

alan.weimer@colorado.edu

Yunping Xi

Professor

Civil, Environmental and Architectural Engineering

MSE Areas: Cementitious materials, fiber-reinforced polymers, corrosion of metals, radiation shielding, solid waste recycling, multi-ionic diffusion, phase change materials, carbon-nanotubes

yunping.xi@colorado.edu

Jianliang Xiao

Assistant Professor

Mechanical Engineering

MSE Areas: Thin films, soft matter, stretchable/flexible electronics, nanomaterials

jianliang.xiao@colorado.edu

Ronggui Yang

Assistant Professor

Mechanical Engineering

MSE Areas: Thermoelectric materials, semiconductors and nanostructures, interface and thin films,nanocomposites, Li-ion batteies, electrical and thermoelectric properties, thermal conductivity, thermal management materials

ronggui.yang@colorado.edu

Liping Yu

Research Assistant Professor

Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research

MSE Areas: photo-electrochemical water-splitting materials

liping.yu@colorado.edu

Wei Zhang

Associate Professor

Chemistry and Biochemistry

MSE Areas: Organic functional materials, porous frameworks, organic molecular cage, shape-persistent macrocycle,carbon capture, polymer chemistry, supramolecular chemistry, artificial photosynthesis, organic nanotube

wei.zhang@colorado.edu